curacao-couple-holiday (1).jpg
If you have a discount code, please enter the code in this field

Geography and climate

Curaçao is a Dutch colony located in the southern Caribbean Sea. Its capital city is Willemstad, while the largest town is Oranjestad. The island is divided into three municipalities; Willemstad, Kralendijk and Otrabanda.

The island's total area is 442 sq km (170 sq mi), making it one of the smallest countries in the world. It is roughly equal in size to Manhattan Island in New York City.

The island is situated approximately 70 kilometers (43 miles) off the Venezuelan coast, with nearby islands being Aruba and Bonaire.

The island is generally flat, with a small hill in the western part. There are no mountains on the island.

While September through November are known to experience heavy rainfalls, Curaçao falls just outside of the storm belt and therefore does not receive much precipitation.